I feel this is intuitive, but I think we all forget this during execution. We become absorbed in just getting the task “over with” and forget the whole point. Exercise only provides its intended benefit if it is performed correctly. If you perform exercises incorrectly out of inattention, laziness, or fatigue, you get an unintended result.

“Unintended results” can mean injury or simply receiving little to no benefit from the exercise. As a therapist, I’m often asked for exercise advice outside the clinic. I am often reticent not because I don’t want to help, but rather, because suggesting an exercise without monitoring how it is performed feels wrong. I don’t want someone not to benefit from the exercise, and more importantly, I don’t want them to get hurt doing it incorrectly.

If you are recovering from pain or injury, your body has become good at compensating. It is hard to get a weak muscle to perform an exercise correctly. The rest of the body is naturally and subconsciously trying to make the exercise as easy to perform as possible.

Next time you get exercise advice from any fitness or health professional, make sure they observe how you perform the exercise so you experience the most benefit.

